Impulse Buying… From Fish to Sofa

20120625-121151.jpg

Well it all started on Saturday…

Liam’s goldfish, Sonic, fell ill. He was drifting around on his side and looked like he was gasping for air. I know that sounds silly for a fish but it’s the only way I can describe it. I went to our local aquatics shop to explain the issue and they said it sounds like he’s oxygen starved. The pond weed in Sonic’s tank obviously wasn’t enough. I don’t like to see anything suffer so I was happy to buy the air pump that was recommended even though it did seem complete overkill for a tiny plastic goldfish tank.

While I was there, however, I got a good look at all the tropical fish and how beautiful they are. This just brought back memories of when I was a little boy and we had a fish tank at home. Mind you, back then, who didn’t? I then thought it would be a brilliant idea to have a fish tank of my own again and fill it with lots of these stunning tropical fish.

I took the pump and my brilliant idea of buying a fish tank home with me presented both to Holly. The pump was fine, she loves animals more than me so was happy to try anything to keep Sonic alive. I was then pleasantly surprised when she thought my idea of buying a fish tank was ‘cute’. So much so, in fact, that she said we had enough savings to go and look at buying one!

So, yesterday we went looking for a fish tank. We both agreed on keeping tropical fish, despite the added expense of a water heater, because the fish are far better looking (no, not in a weird fish-fettish kind of way). We then found out that you have to let your new tropical fish tank settle for a week before adding any fish to it. This put me off a little as when I want something on impulse, I usually want it now. The thought of having an empty fish tank in our living room for a week was not very appealing. Therefore, we bought Liam a new goldfish (which he later called, Knuckles!) and decided to go away and think about it first.

After thinking about it for a while, we realised that we didn’t really have anything suitable to put the tank on and the tanks that come with a cabinet/stand are considerably more expensive. So we went to a local pet ‘Superstore’, as you may call it; basically they sell everything to do with every pet you can think of. There they sold smaller but more desirable fish tanks. The one that grabbed me instantly was the Fluval Chi. If you’ve never heard of or seen this tank then you need to…

It is truly beautiful and would look stunning in any modern living room. I had my heart set on this and was ready to buy it until the lovely shop assistant asked me, “Do you have any cats?”.
“Err, yes we have a cat. Why?”, I replied, not realising that this tank was about to be taken from me before I’d even had it.
“Because it doesn’t come with a lid, it has an open top.”
“Ah, I didn’t realise that”, I said, thinking more about what the kids would put in it more than what the cat would fish out.
She then said something that made me wonder why she was working in the aquatics section of a pet shop as she clearly had no regard for the lives of little fish. “It would be a rather expensive toy”!
What’s worse is that she said it with a smirk on her face. An expensive toy? Maybe it’s just me, but it’s not nice to think of my cat pulling fish out of the tank to either play with on the floor until they’re dead or eat them. I’m not sure which is worse but I wouldn’t class either scenario as a toy for my cat.

So with me feeling depressed, we left the pet shop without a fish tank. However, we still had some savings to spend! Now, a sensible person would go home and keep the savings for another day or something they genuinely needed, but not us of course! Instead we moved on to an even bigger shop, a huge department store that sells literally everything you can think of. I was determined to go home with something for my living room, whether it be a new lamp, a new ornament, a new picture or something cool and futuristic looking that’s lights up blue!

Unfortunately, because they sell absolutely everything, we wandered upstairs and stumbled into the furniture section. It was there that Holly spotted a lovely corner sofa and a matching swivel chair. She ran over and sat in the chair with Liam before spinning round in the huge, comfy looking arm chair.
“SOLD!”, she shouted with a massive smile on her face as if completely forgetting where she was for a second.
To be fair it was pretty awesome and the grin on Liam’s face told me that he enjoyed it too. It was at this point that I felt the smile growing on my face before I too forgot where I was and ran over (leaving Laura behind sat in the trolley) shouting, “let me have a go!”.
After remembering I was 26 and surrounded by strangers I stood up and composed myself. Unfortunately, our living room was nowhere near big enough to house a corner sofa that size with the spinning chair, and it would look a bit odd on its own. So, yet again, we left empty handed.

Once home, however, we both started looking on the Internet for a nice corner sofa that was small enough to fit in our living room without overcrowding it but big enough for a family of 4 to comfortably sit on. We did manage to find a suitable candidate, and it really was a nice sofa, so at 22:30 last night I was on the phone placing the order. Can you believe that this company is so desperate their phone lines are open 24 hours a day? And can you believe that we were so desperate to get a new sofa that we were on the phone ordering one at nearly 11 o’clock on a Sunday night?

So there you have it! That’s how we ended up going from spending £100-£200 on a fish tank to spending nearly £2000 on a new sofa. I suppose Holly has wanted a corner sofa for some time now and our current sofa is a bit stained and starting to fall apart so I guess it was more sensible than buying a fish tank, just considerably more expensive!!

One thought on “Impulse Buying… From Fish to Sofa

  1. Pingback: What a Week (and a half)! | Work, Life, Play and… Kids

Leave a Reply

